Yo-Yo Ma

Yo-Yo Ma: A New Equilibrium Live Session – Take 1

16 Oct 2020

About this event

Yo-Yo Ma returns to the IDAGIO Global Concert Hall on October 23, 2020, with a live concert event honouring the 75th anniversary of the UN’s creation. Three performances of this concert programme throughout the day make it possible to enjoy this event LIVE from every time zone in the world.

Tickets are $9.90 and grant access to all three (3) live events plus 48 hours of on-demand viewing.

In October 1945, the world came together to ratify the United Nations Charter. “It must have been,” Yo-Yo Ma has said, “a moment of profound hope for the future, a step towards a world defined by equality, opportunity, and safety for all.”

Yo-Yo Ma honours the 75th anniversary of the UN’s creation with a special musical event inspired by the simple belief that we must work together to build the world we need. The superstar cellist, who is a United Nations Messenger of Peace, performs in three parts live from Boston, presenting a programme that weaves in musical and video creations by artists from around the world. Together, their work reminds us of the values we share, the common challenges we face, and the hope that we can find solutions together.

From cello arrangements of works by Beethoven and the Lebanese rock band Mashrou’ Leila to a new collaboration with South African jazz great Abdullah Ibrahim, Yo-Yo Ma shares music, words, and images that offer renewed hope for a better future in which we live in balance with one another and with nature.

Your ticket purchase will directly support the participating artists through IDAGIO’s Fair Artist Payout Model: IDAGIO pays 80% of the net revenue directly to the performers.


  • 1. Concert – approx. 60 min programme


1. Song of the Birds (Traditional Catalan song)

2. Max Richter: All Human Beings

Yulia Mahr, film

3. Ludwig van Beethoven (arr. Peter Lichtenthal): Symphony No. 6 (“Pastoral”), II. – “Szene am Bach”

4. Antonín Dvořák (arr. Dara Hankins): Songs My Mother Taught Me

Dara Hankins, cello (II–VII)

5. Abdullah Ibrahim: Soweto

Abdullah Ibrahim, piano

6. Zolani Mahola and Seachange Collective: Amphibious Soul

Zolani Mahola, vocals

Madosini, mhrube mouthbow

Jonny Blundell, guitar

Brydon Bolton, double bass

Ronan Skillen and Tom Foster, sea percussion

Sea Change Project, film

7. Mashrou’ Leila (arr. Mike Block): Tayf

8. Wu Tong: Rain Falling from the Roof

Wu Tong, sheng

9. Simple Gifts (Traditional, arr. Aaron Copland)

10. Antonín Dvořák (arr. William Arms Fisher): Going Home (from Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, “From the New World”)

The concert will be streamed live from Fraser Performance Studio at WGBH in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.